Welcome to the Committee on Emergency Management

Committee Jurisdiction: Primary jurisdictions are the Emergency Services Act including emergency declarations, homeland security and victim services programs administered by Cal OES, earthquake mitigation, seismic safety, State Fire Marshal, fire prevention and suppression programs, mutual aid systems, Statewide and local government emergency or disaster response, emergency medical services, and emergency communications and evacuations.


Freddie Rodriguez, Chair

Assembly Member Freddie Rodriguez,
Chair of the Emergency Management Committee

Assembly Member Kelly Seyarto, Vice Chair

Assembly Member Kelly Seyarto
Vice Chair of the Committee on Emergency Management

The deadline to submit position letters is one week prior to the hearing date.
For information on how to submit a position letter please see the 

Advocacy Quick Reference Guide
Submit Position Letter

Important COVID-19 Information

The public will have the ability to participate in committee hearings by offering comment in the following ways:

  • The Capitol will be open for attendance of this hearing; however, due to guidance on physical distancing, seating for the hearings will be minimal for the press and public. In-person attendance is not recommended. All are encouraged to watch the hearings from their livestream on the Assembly’s website at https://www.assembly.ca.gov/todaysevents.
  • Remote Testimony Station location:
    • Sacramento – State Capitol Park - North steps.
  • Written testimony before the hearing via email. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

Committee Room

Contact Information

Emergency Management Committee
1020 N Street, Room 360B
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 319-3802 phone
(916) 319-3812 fax
Members & Staff

Copyright © 2011 State of California